Reading and Q&A with Ari Goldman

September 24, 2014 at 2:29 pm Leave a comment

Join us Wednesday, October 1st, at 7pm for a reading with Ari Goldman from his debut memoir The Late Starters Orchestra

9781565129924

How did you come to write The Late Starters Orchestra?

When I have a life-changing experience, I like to share it. I did this with my first book, The Search for God at Harvardabout a year I spent at Harvard Divinity School, and I did it again with Living a Year of Kaddishabout saying the memorial prayer for my father. My coming out as a cellist at the age of 60 was one of the high points of my life. I decided to tell the story in The Late Starters Orchestra.

What are you currently reading?

The Aleppo Codex: A True Story of Obsession, Faith, and the Pursuit of an Ancient Bible, by Matti Friedman. It is an adventure story about a book.

Do you have a personal favorite book of all time? If so, can you share it and tell us why?

Two favorites:
1. The Sheltering Sky by Paul Bowles. It is one of the most artfully crafted books I have ever read.
2. As a Driven Leaf by Milton Steinberg. It is a historical novel based on a character in the Talmud. The writer builds a world around a thin reed of a story.

Is there anything you are particularly looking forward to the publication of?

Rabbi David Wolpe has a new book coming out on King David, David: The Divided Heart. I’m a fan of Wolpe and of David too!

What’s next? Any upcoming book projects in the works that you can tell us about?

Right now, I’m working on my cello playing. One of the nice things about publishing The Late Starters Orchestra is that I get to play at book events with some friends from the orchestra. We’re looking forward to playing at Book Culture on October 1st!

Entry filed under: Events, Q & A. Tags: , .

Q & A with Vica Miller Q & A With S. Chris Shirley

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

Book Culture is an independent community bookstore with two locations in the Morningside Heights neighborhood of New York City on 112th street and 114th street and Broadway. Visit us online at www.bookculture.com

People Like Us!

"The Upper West Side's literary standard"
- Gothamist

"Simply beautiful."
- Not For Tourists

Book Culture

Categories

indiebound

