Q & A with Paul Pines

November 28, 2007 at 5:36 am Leave a comment

paul.jpgLast night at the store, author and poet Paul Pines read from his new memoir, My Brother’s Madness. Paul was introduced by his good friend (and best man at his wedding) Fred Waitzkin, author of Searching for Bobby Fischer. After reading several passages from the book, Paul answered questions from the audience, and also took time to answer a few questions for us after the book signing and reception:

What books are you currently reading or looking forward to reading?

The Inner World of Trauma by Donald Kalsched and The Principle of Individuation by Murray Stein. As far as a novel, I’d really like to read Cormac McCarthy’s The Road.

But I’m also looking forward to getting back to work on my writing. The past six months promoting My Brother’s Madness has left little time for writing in my studio, except for a poem here and there.

What will you be working on next?

I’ve finished an opera libretto based on my novel, The Tin Angel, for which Daniel Asia will compose the music. He is also setting some of my poems in a symphony commissioned by the Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra to be performed in 2008.

What are some of the writers and books you like to recommend, either within or outside of your field?

In psychotherapy, I think James Hollis is wonderful, especially Under Saturn’s Shadow: The Wounding and Healing of Men. In poetry, I enjoy Doug Anderson and Carlos Trujillo. And I’m very interested in mythology, and the ways in which it describes the state of our cultural psyche. I’ve taught a mythology course in which we read a Lindsay Clarke translation of Parzival.

Have you ever shopped at or visited Book Culture before?

I have not shopped here before, although I stopped in last week after my interview on the Leonard Lopate show. And I almost walked out as a shoplifter. I picked up copies of the Times Literary Supplement and another journal and was about to walkout with them when one of your alert staff members inquired politely “Do you intend to pay for those?”

Entry filed under: Events, Q & A.

Q & A with Janet Malcolm December Events

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

Book Culture is an independent community bookstore with two locations in the Morningside Heights neighborhood of New York City on 112th street and 114th street and Broadway. Visit us online at www.bookculture.com

People Like Us!

"The Upper West Side's literary standard"
- Gothamist

"Simply beautiful."
- Not For Tourists

Book Culture

Categories

indiebound

